This Is Auburn

COSAM’s Thomas named to National Science Foundation Advisory Committee for Mathematical and Physical Sciences

June 22, 2021 @ 3:09 p.m.

Font Size

“Ed has made significant contributions to Auburn University over the last two decades and has also served on important advisory boards helping to set science policy in this country. His latest appointment to this prominent advisory committee reinforces the impact that he will continue to make,” said Dean Nicholas J. Giordano of the College of Sciences and Mathematics (COSAM). 

Ed Thomas Jr., associate dean for research and graduate studies and professor of physics, is now a member of the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) Advisory Committee for Mathematical and Physical Sciences.

“Your appointment recognizes your strong scientific credentials and vision for the conduct of science,” explained Sean L. Jones, assistant director, NSF, in a letter announcing the selection.

He joins current members of this committee from prestigious universities across the entire nation.

Thomas, who graduated with his doctorate degree from Auburn University in 1996, has been faculty since 2000. He has risen from a graduate student to associate professor to associate dean for research and graduate studies while remaining an active researcher and professor in the Department of Physics.

Thomas has previously served on several U.S. and international advisory committees including the Department of Energy’s Fusion Energy Sciences Advisory Committee (FESAC) and the National Academies’ Plasma Science Committee (PLSC).

To learn more about Thomas, visit his faculty page.


Ed Thomas Jr.

Ed Thomas, Jr.

Categories: Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM)

Related Stories

Auburn University teams with Tuskegee University for STEM student research opportunities

Auburn awarded $10 million by NSF to lead national STEM education initiative for students with disabilities

Hoang earns first NSF CAREER Award for Department of Mathematics and Statistics