The United States Congress authorizes and establishes the Alliances for Minority Participation (AMP), an initiative designed to substantially increase the quality and quantity of students from historically underrepresented groups earning baccalaureate degrees in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) and entering graduate school.


Alabama State University (ASU) and Tuskegee University (TU) join University of Alabama Birmingham (UAB) to launch the Alabama AMP with Dr. Louis Dale at UAB as PI and Dr. James H.M. Henderson and Dr. Wallace Maryland as campus leads at TU and ASU, respectively.


  1. Auburn University joins Alabama AMP with Dr. Overtoun Jenda as campus lead.
  2. Auburn University Minority Drop-in Center is launched.


Auburn University Minority Engineering Program (MEP) is launched.


Auburn University Summer Bridge Program is launched.


Alabama AMP institutions launch the Minority Graduate Education Program.


  1. Alliances for Minority Participation (AMP) was renamed the Louis Stokes Alliances for Minority Participation  (LSAMP) in honor of Louis Stokes, the first African American elected to congress in the State of Ohio. 
  2. Auburn University Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) in Algebra and Discrete Mathematics is launched with Dr. Peter Johnson and Dr. Overtoun Jenda as co-Directors.


Alabama LSAMP Launches the Alliances for Graduate Education and the Professoriate (AGEP) project.


Auburn University and Tuskegee University launch the Graduate STEM Fellows in K-12 Education (GK-12): Fellows in Science and Mathematics for East Alabama Schools with (2005-2009) in partnership with Lee County Schools.


Alabama State University, Auburn University, Auburn University at Montgomery (AUM), Southern Union State Community College, and Tuskegee University launch the Research in Disabilities Education (RDE) Alabama Alliance for Students with Disabilities in STEM (AASD-STEM).


Auburn University launches the Masamu Program in partnership with NSF and the Southern Africa Mathematical Sciences Association (SAMSA).


SAMSA Masamu Advanced Study Institute (MASI) is launched and held in Livingstone, Zambia.


US-Africa Collaborative Research Network (CRN) in Mathematical Sciences and Related Areas is launched.


  1. SAMSA Masamu Program awards the first Kovalevskaia Research Grants to two recipients. The awards are designed to encourage upcoming female mathematicians from the sub-Saharan Africa region.
  2. Auburn University ACT Prep Summer Academy is launched in partnership with the Alabama Department of Rehabilitation Services.


  1. Office of Special Projects and Initiatives is established with Dr. Jenda as Assistant Provost, Dr. Brittany McCullough as Program Analyst, and Ms. Keri Hesson as Academic Programs Administrator.
  2. AASD-STEM expands to the regional Southeast Alliance for Persons with Disabilities in STEM (SEAPD-STEM) INCLUDES Pilot project consisting of 21 institutions in the southeast and Washington D.C.
  3. Auburn University, AUM, Tuskegee University (lead), Alabama A&M University, Southern Union State CC, Lawson State CC, Brookhaven National Lab, and Oakland University launch the S-STEM Making to Advance Knowledge, Excellence, and Recognition in STEM (MAKERS) Alliance.


Alabama State University, Auburn University (lead), Auburn University Montgomery (AUM), Enterprise State Community College, Southern Union State Community College (SUSCC), Troy University, Tuskegee University, University of West Alabama, Oak Ridge National Lab, Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) launch the Greater Alabama Black Belt Region (GABBR) Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) as an extension of Alabama LSAMP.


  1. Auburn University College Quest Summer Academy is launched in partnership with the Alabama Department of Rehabilitation Services.
  2. GABBR STEM Initiative is launched in partnership with Alabama State Department of Education, Alabama Cooperative Extension System, and Bullock County School District.
  3. Auburn University launches a pilot Summer STEM Academy at Bullock County High school as part of GABBR STEM Initiative.


Auburn University hosts SAMSA Conference and MASI and Workshops virtually in 2020 and 2021 due to COVID-19 pandemic.


  1. SEAPD-STEM expands to the Eddie Bernice Johnson INCLUDES Initiative: The Alliance for Persons with Disabilities for Inclusion, Networking, and Transition Opportunities in STEM (TAPDINTO-STEM) consisting initially of 27 institutions in partnership with government and industry.
  2. The Institute for Strengthening Pathways and Research Knowledge in STEM (SPARK STEM Institute) is established, November 22, 2021.
  3. SAMSA Masamu CRN Virtual Colloquia Series is launched.


  1. GEAR UP program is launched by Alabama State University in partnership with the US Department of Education, Montgomery Public Schools (MPS), and regional institutions including Auburn University and Tuskegee University.
  2. Auburn University runs the first annual GEAR UP Residential Summer Academy for rising 7th and rising 8th graders from MPS.
  3. The SPARK-STEM Institute Launch Symposium is held with welcome remarks from Dr. James Weyhenmeyer, VP for Research and Economic Development, presentations given by Dr. Carl Pettis, Co-Director; Dr. Mohammed Qazi, Co-Director; Dr. Brittany McCullough, Director of Planning, Implementation and Assessment; Dr. David Shannon, Director of Research; Dr. Overtoun Jenda, Executive Director; and Dr. Fay Cobb Payton, Professor Emeritus at NC State University as a keynote speaker.
  4. SAMSA Masamu Program launches the First Annual One Health Symposium as part of the 2022 MASI and SAMSA Conference at Eduardo Mondlane University in Maputo, Mozambique.