The Moore Distinguished Faculty Award


Dr. Jemelene Chastain Moore: Auburn Nursing's First Faculty Member

The road that led Jemelene Chastain Moore to Auburn University is not typical by any means. She wasn't from Alabama or the loveliest village on the plains, but rather the plains of Oklahoma. She didn't follow in the footsteps of family members who attended Auburn University generations before her, but rather she was the first person in her family ever to earn a college degree. Jemelene overcame countless obstacles with resilience and determination. She may have been born into poverty, but that didn't stop her from earning three college degrees - including one from Auburn - and becoming a part of the history of Auburn University and its College of Nursing. 


The Dr. Jemelene Chastain Moore Distinguished Faculty Award was established by Dr. Moore’s son Hugh, daughter-in-law Ann, and grandson David to honor Dr. Moore, the first instructor hired in the new school of nursing in 1979. The family’s generosity has enabled the Auburn University School College of Nursing to commend a faculty member for service and dedication.

The award, presented annually, serves to recognize a faculty member who has demonstrated exemplary accomplishment in teaching, research, outreach, and/or service, and who represents the educational vision of the College of Nursing. This is the fifth year that the College of Nursing has presented this award.

This year’s recipient, Meghan Jones, exemplifies Dr. Moore’s passion for education. Her youth belies her determination and perseverance in developing a premium simulation lab in our college. Upon graduation in 2010, she worked as a registered nurse at Baptist Hospital in Nashville and at Lee Obstetrics and Gynecology in Auburn. In 2015, Jones obtained a master’s degree in adult-gerontology acute care nurse practitioner from the University of Alabama at Birmingham. In 2018, she received a certificate of leadership in simulation instruction and management from Robert Morris University. Jones is currently pursuing her PhD in nursing from the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Jones joined AU’s then school of nursing as assistant clinical professor in 2015. She is a Certified Healthcare Simulation Educator-Advanced, a designation awarded by the Society for Simulation in Healthcare. She is the “behind-the-scenes” person in the SIM lab and demonstrates expertise in facilitating scenario creation and running the lab. Due to her leadership, the EAGLES Center achieved full accreditation in Teaching/Education by the Society for Simulation in Healthcare in June 2022.

She has authored or co-authored several articles in refereed journals, a book chapter on nursing education innovations and obstacles during COVID-19, and several invited oral and poster presentations at local, regional, national and international conferences. Within the college, Jones serves on the curriculum committee, bylaws review committee and simulation committee. She is a member of several professional organizations. As a member of the International Nursing Association for Clinical Simulation and Learning, she chaired the association’s governance committee from 2018-2020 and was a contributing author to the 2021 Healthcare Simulation Standards of Best PracticeTM: Objectives and Outcomes standard. Committed to ensuring the standards reach programs locally, nationally, and internationally, Jones participates in webinars and workshops to disseminate the standards and mentors faculty and clinical partners in simulation program development and scenario design.

One nominator who has worked with Jones since 2015, attests to her work ethics.

“I have seen her commitment to preparing students to think critically and apply clinical judgment. Meghan immersed herself in simulation and led the charge to develop a premier simulation program in the college. Although simulation began with the undergraduate program, She worked with the nurse practitioner faculty to expand simulation to the graduate program and implemented both simulation and skills experiences for nurse practitioner students.

“In her role as director of clinical simulation and skills, her contributions to the college are significant and were recognized at the university level through her promotion to associate clinical professor in 2022,” she said.

A colleague expressed that Jones had brought “Outreach to a new level. The AUCON simulation center continues to thrive and grow under her direction. She serves as a role model and mentor for faculty, students and staff in the simulation setting.”

A student commented that the SIM lab was a deciding factor in choosing AUCON!

Another advocate endorsed her ability to clearly articulate the vision for simulation and skills and said that she was successful at achieving buy-in from stakeholders and donors, many of whom support AUCON simulation opportunities.

“I believe her dedication and commitment to continued excellence for herself and the college make her a worthy recipient of the Dr. Jemelene Chastain Moore Distinguished Faculty Award,” said Dean Gregg Newschwander.

Congratulations to Meghan Jones!

Past Award Recipients

Dr. Kathy Jo Ellison, East Alabama Medical Center/Dr. Bill Lazenby Professor

This permanent endowment is established in the Auburn University Foundation by Hugh Charles and Ann Smith Moore for the purpose of providing funds for excellence in the School of Nursing.  Because of the generosity of Mr. and Mrs. Moore, the Auburn University School of Nursing is enabled to present the Dr. Jemelene Chastain Moore Distinguished Faculty Award.   

Back to Top