Women's Leadership Conference

Be Bold, Be Powerful, Be You | March 24, 2017 | The Hotel at Auburn University & Dixon Conference Center


The Women’s Leadership Conference (WLC) is an annual campus event, hosted by the Women’s Center, that includes workshops, speakers, and discussion panels intended to educate conference attendees on leadership topics while providing networking opportunities with other women leaders.



The conference also includes a luncheon honoring Women of Distinction Leadership Award winners. The cost of the conference will be announced soon and includes lunch. If you are a student in financial need of a sponsorship to attend this conference, they are available on a limited basis. Please contact Heather Finch at finchhm@auburn.edu if you would like to be considered for sponsorship.

We welcome all students, staff, faculty, and community members to attend this event.

Each WLC is developed and organized by student committees, overseen by the Women's Center staff and Advisory Board. Undergraduate and graduate students from all majors are encouraged to apply and serve on one of the following sub-committees: Publicity, Speakers, Registration, Dining Coordination, Fundraising, Operations, and Publications, in order to create a conference that addresses the important and relevant issues facing women. We welcome committee members that bring unique perspective and creativity to the development process of the conference.

Students also fill the positions for committee co-chair, who manages and coordinates all sub-committees. These students plan each detail of the conference, including theme and venue, speakers, workshops, and luncheon menu. Planning the WLC provides leadership and networking opportunities while also making an impact here at Auburn University.

Planning for WLC begins in the fall semester with weekly hour-long meetings. Some additional sub-committee meetings may take place in the off weeks as needed. Regular email communication will be required.

Please return completed applications to 311 Mary Martin Hall. Though we prefer to receive applications prior to the start of the fall semester, you may submit an application anytime. Registration information to be updated soon.

To download individual registration forms, click here. 

For Table Registration forms, click here.

For Student Sponsorship forms, click here.

Women of Distinction Awards:

Each year at the Women’s Leadership Conference, Auburn University honors an undergraduate student, graduate student, faculty member, administrative and professional staff member, staff member, and alumna who demonstrates exemplary leadership abilities. She leads with courage, creating innovative solutions, while inspiring and uplifting her community. These award winners are recognized at the conference luncheon each year and honored with a certificate of their achievement. 


If you are interested in nominating an Auburn University woman for a Women of Distinction Leadership Award, please refer to the following list depicting the categories for the awards. All nominees are expected to be commendable women in their field with an aptitude for leadership. Anyone may nominate a candidate for the award by the deadline, which is typically in late January. Please contact the WC office for the official deadline. Submit an electronic or paper nomination package containing the completed nomination form and the nominee’s vitae or resume.

Please send the nomination package for 2017 Women of Distinction Awards by the EXTENDED DEADLINE TUESDAY, JANUARY 31, 2017 to:

Women’s Center

Women’s Leadership Conference
Attn: Heather Finch
311 Mary Martin Hall


Email Heather Finch at finchhm@auburn.edu

Call Heather Finch at 844-4289 if you have any questions. 

1. The Undergraduate Student Award honors an undergraduate student currently enrolled at Auburn University.

Undergraduate Student Nomination Form

2. The Graduate Student Award honors a graduate student currently enrolled at Auburn University.

Graduate Student Nomination Form

3. The Faculty Member Award honors a faculty member of Auburn University.

Faculty Member Nomination Form

4. The Administrative and Professional Staff Member Award honors an individual who works at Auburn University.

Administrative and Professional Staff Member Nomination Form

5. The Staff Member Award honors an individual who works at Auburn University.

Staff Member Nomination Form

6.  The Alumna Award honors an Auburn University graduate.

Alumna Nomination Form


Past Women of Distinction Award Winners


Undergraduate Student: Sara Rains

Graduate Student: Lauren Gilmore

Faculty: Angela Colvin Burque

Administrative and Professional Staff: Jennifer Jarvis

Staff: Barbara Yates

Alumna: Lela Lofton


Undergraduate Student: Jessica Adams

Graduate Student: Burcu Ozden

Faculty: Maria Lujan Auld

Staff: Kim Evans

Alumna: Melanie Barstad


Undergraduate Student: Mary-Catherine Anderson, Cellular and Molecular Biology

Graduate Student: Jennifer Duggan, Chemical Engineering

Faculty: Constance Smith Hendricks, Auburn University Professor, School of Nursing

Staff: Susan McCallister, Associate Director, Public Safety Information and Education

Alumna: Nelda Lee, Tactical Aircraft Flight and Ground Test Engineer


Undergraduate Student: Melanie Smith, Human Development and Family Studies

Graduate Student: Amanda Meder, Master of Science in Horticulture

Faculty: Anne Gorden, College of Sciences and Mathematics Associate Professor

Staff: Cynthia Channell-Butcher, Administrator III, Academic Programs, Auburn University Department of Horticulture

Alumna: Carol Godfrey, Vice President of Marketing and Product Development for Southwire’s Energy Division


Undergraduate Students: Erica Brooke Brasfield, Social Work

Graduate Students: Emile Ewing, Electrical and Wireless Engineering

Faculty: Virginia A. Davis, Department of Chemical Engineering Associate Professor

Staff: Karen L. Veverica, Interim Director of E.W. Shell Fisheries Center

Alumna: Linda A. Figg, CEO and President, FIGG Bridge Engineers; Lauren Hayes, Tennessee Charter Schools Association Advocacy Director


Undergraduate Student: Ashely Nichols, Political Science

Graduate Student: Felicia Tuggle, Human Development and Family Studies

Faculty: Marcia Boosinger, Auburn University Associate Dean, Librarian

Staff: Barnese Adair-Wallace, Auburn Facilities Director of Building Services

Alumna: Ruthanna Payne, Learning Community Coordinator and Academic Counselor 


Undergraduate Students: Erika Gam, Elementary Education & Spanish; Emma Jane Keller, Human Development and Family Studies

Graduate Students: Liz Geare, Community Planning; Cassandra Kirkland, Human Development and Family Studies

Faculty: Dr. Kimberly Braxton Lloyd, Auburn University Assistant Dean for Health Services; Cheryl Morgan, Auburn University Center for Architecture and Urban Studies Director

Staff: Meredith Jenkins, Senior Woman Administrator for Auburn Athletics; Kyes Stevens, Alabama Prison Arts & Education Project Director


Students: Whitney Boddie, DeWanna Bonner, Sherell Hobbs, and Trevesha Jackson

Faculty: Dr. Sharon Gaber

Alumna: Dr. Kathryn Thorton

Special Award for Leadership and Inspiration: Nell Fortner