Auburn University Libraries offering research enhancement seminars for faculty, students, staff

August 20, 2018 @ 4:06 p.m.

Font Size

Auburn University Libraries will offer seminars in fall semester 2018 to promote excellence in research. These seminars are open to all faculty, students and staff. Register for seminars through the AU Libraries website at https://www.lib.auburn.edu/training/.

Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference/citation manager. This hands-on workshop will cover how to add references to Mendeley from your computer, databases or the web; how to read and annotate your information sources within Mendeley; and how to generate citations and bibliographies using Mendeley and the MS Word plug-in. 
Thursday, Sept. 20, 4-5 p.m. 
Saturday, Oct. 27, 9-10 a.m.
Thursday, Nov. 15, 4-5 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 18, 4-5 p.m.

EndNote
EndNote is the industry standard software tool for publishing and managing bibliographies, citations and references on the Windows and Macintosh desktop. 
Saturday, July 28, 10:30 a.m.-noon 
Saturday, Aug. 11, 10:30 a.m.-noon
Saturday, Aug. 25, 10:30 a.m.-noon
Thursday, Sept. 6, 3-4:30 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 4, 3-4:30 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 27, 10:30 a.m.-noon
Saturday, Nov. 10, 10:30 a.m.-noon
Tuesday, Nov. 20, 1-2:30 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 8, 10:30 a.m.-noon
Tuesday, Dec. 18, 1-2:30 p.m.

Research Data Management Workshop
This introductory seminar is intended for graduate researchers who are learning about issues in data management for the first time. All sessions will cover data organization and formatting. More specialized, subject-specific topics are addressed based on the participants' research areas. 
Tuesday, Aug. 28, 3 p.m.
Tuesday, Sept. 11, 3 p.m.
Tuesday, Sept. 25, 3 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 9, 3 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 23, 3 p.m.
Tuesday, Nov. 6, 3 p.m.

Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use, online tool to help you collect, organize, cite and share your research sources. This hands-on workshop will cover registering for an account, importing references, organizing your references, creating a formatted bibliography and using Zotero with the MS Word plugin. Sharing references through the Group Libraries feature will also be discussed. Bringing your laptop is encouraged, but not required. The workshop will be held in the second floor Gibbs Lab at Ralph Brown Draughon Library, across from the Mell Commons entrance into Ralph Brown Draughon Library. For more information and to schedule a separate Zotero workshop for a course or group, go to http://libguides.auburn.edu/zotero.

Wednesday Aug. 29, 5-6 p.m. 
Thursday Sept. 13, 5-6 p.m.
Wednesday Sept. 26, 5-6 p.m. 
Wednesday Oct. 17, 5-6 p.m.
Monday Nov. 5, 5-6 p.m.

Systematic Review
Systematic Review is for those interested in starting a systematic review* but not sure where or how to start. This workshop will cover how systematic reviews differ from other types of reviews, the steps involved in completing a systematic review and information about additional resources and services to help with the systematic review process. 
Saturday, Sept. 1, 10 a.m.-noon
Friday, Oct. 26, 3-5 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 27, 10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
* A systematic review is a formal research study that seeks to first identify (through a systematic and comprehensive search) all relevant literature answering a focused research question, then appraise the identified literature and finally analyze, synthesize and present data from all studies included in the review.

BY JAYSON HILL

Categories:


Related Stories

Auburn faculty invited to attend Office of the Vice President for Research Expo on Sept. 25

Application Window for LAUNCH Funding Opens September 17, 2018

Research Experiences for Undergraduates participants sharing their research at symposium on August 10, 2018